It’s been awhile…sorry for being a stranger!

Like the header for this posting says…it HAS been awhile–over three months since my last post.  For that, I apologize.  The very real and aggravating reality of work and career has severely interrupted both my photography and my web presence for the past several months.  Thankfully, it appears that the light at the end of the tunnel is NOT an oncoming train after all.  I can only keep my fingers crossed about that, though.  We shall see.

As for photography, I have not had the opportunity or motivation to shoot much in the past three months due to either being at work or physically resting to recover from work.  What little time I have had has been spent maintaining my relationship with my wife and working on my newest project which I just finished today.

March-November
By Dean Bryant Johnson

Yep!  I decided that the next best thing to getting out and shooting was to compile the images I’ve made this year into a photobook.  This is my first of what I plan to be an annual project.  One thing I discovered, however, is that if you plan to send these things out for Christmas gifts you’d better plan ahead.  Sorry, familiy, but your Christmas presents will be a little late!

I’m very pleased with Blub’s software to put the book together.  It is very intuitive and easy to use.  The only complaint I have is that sometimes I wanted to lay a page out a certain way but there were no templates to accomodate my vision.  The solution I came up with was to use my photo editing program to create the page as a separate image and then use a full image template to display the composite I had made.  It would have been easier if there had been a template suited for my vision…but I’m not really complaining because the software is free!

I ordered a quantity of the books and they should ship just before the end of the year.  Once I receive them, I will post a review of what I get.  In the meantime, please feel free to peruse the preview of the book.  I have opted to make the book public and offer it for sale.  Prices for softcover, hardbound, and imagewrapped versions can be found on the books page at Blurb.

Next week is Christmas and the following week my wife and I will be spending the week on Ocracoke Island to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.  Yes, plans are to take lots and lots of pictures while I’m on the island, so stay tuned in January 2009!

Leave a Reply

